ICIR Announces the Successful Applicants for its Second Investigative Reporting Training Programme

nirp successful applicants

International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR), Abuja has shortlisted 41 journalists from across the country to participate in the second series of its Investigative Journalism training programme.

The training programme scheduled for May 19 to May 21 in Abuja is part of the Nigerian Investigative Reporting Project, NIRP, a reporting and publishing initiative funded by Ford Foundation, which is aimed at building capacity for journalists in Nigeria to effectively play their role in promoting accountability and good governance.

The project which runs for two years and is in its second year aims at equipping the 41 journalists with Investigative Journalism skills and techniques. Also, as part of the project, the journalists would be able to access some funds to pursue investigative story projects that have direct impact on their communities.

The 41 successful journalists were shortlisted from over 70 applications from print, electronic and online media from all over the country.

The selection committee composed of ICIR staff and some respected editors carefully went through each individual application based on the selection criteria outlined in the ‘Call for Applications’.

Names of successful applicants are listed below and are also available on the NIRP website (http://nirp.icirnigeria.org/). Further information about the training programme and the project can also be obtained on the website.


Tope Shaba                                                                                                        Dayo Aiyetan

Project Manager                                                                                              Project Director

Mobile: 08037371352                                                                                      Mobile: 08033034675

Email: [email protected]                                                                     Email: [email protected]

[email protected]

List of 2015 Successful Applicants for the NIRP

Name Medium Sex Base E-mail
1 Benjamin Ezeamalu Premium Times Male Lagos [email protected] 
2 Allusius Attah The Nation Male Onitsha, Anambra state [email protected] 
3 Anazia Daniel Guardian Male Lagos [email protected]
4 Onyewuchi Ojinnaka The Nitch Male Lagos [email protected] 
5 Ruth Tene Leadership Female Abuja [email protected]
6 Godwin Duru FRCN Kaduna Male Kaduna [email protected]
7 Joseph Hir Daily Trust Male Nasarawa State [email protected] 
8 Abiose Adelaja ICIR Female Lagos [email protected] 
9 Erik Ikhilae The Nation Male Lagos [email protected]
10 Chimelie Ezeobi This day Female Lagos [email protected] 
11 Ngozi Emedolibe National Mirror Female Lagos [email protected] 
12 Augustine Agbo Leadership Male Abuja [email protected] 
13 Ebhuomhan Usifo National Mirror Male Benin [email protected] 
14 Kunle Falayi Punch Male Lagos [email protected]
15 Solomon Adebayo FRCN Male Abuja [email protected] 
16 Toyin Adepoju Splasj FM Female Ibadan Oyo State [email protected] 
17 Susan Ironsi Leadership Female Abuja [email protected]
18 Sam Otti The Sun Male Lagos [email protected]
19 Tony Akowe The Nation Male Abuja [email protected]
20 Ali Abara Abubakar Peoples Daily Male Abuja [email protected] 
21 Obinna Chukwuezie Male Jos [email protected] 
22 Itunu Ajayi Guardian Female Abuja [email protected]
23 Simon Ateba The News Male Lagos [email protected]
24 Mojeed Alabi New Telegraph Male Lagos [email protected] 
25 Adebayo Hassan Premium Times Male Abuja [email protected] 
26 Malik Samuel ICIR Male Abuja [email protected]
27 Grace Obike The Nation Female Abuja [email protected]
28 Kolawole Talabi Freelancer Male Ibadan [email protected] 
29 Olubukola Bakare Newswatch Female Lagos [email protected] 
30 Musa Isa Ahmed Male Yola [email protected] 
31 Taiwo Adeyemi Freelancer Male Abuja [email protected] 
32 Nathaniel Akighe Businessday Male Lagos [email protected] 
33 Alfred Ajayi FRCN Male Awka, Anambra State [email protected] 
34 Edegbe Odenwigwe Leadership Male Abuja [email protected] 
35 Ajibola Amzat Guardian Male Lagos [email protected] 
36 Perez Brizibe Vanguard Male Ughelli Delta State [email protected] 
37 Tosin Omoniyi ICIR Male Abuja [email protected] 
38 Evelyn Osagie The Nation Female Lagos [email protected]080630880975
39 Olatokewa Ayoade Vision FM Female Abuja [email protected] 
40 Juliana Uche – Okobi Tell Female Lagos [email protected]08051791222
41 Prince Charles Dickson Male Jos [email protected]


Disaggregation of Participants by Location

City/State Number of Participants
Abuja, FCT 14
Lagos, Lagos 16
Jos, Plateau 2
Onisha, Anambra 1
Ughelli, Delta 1
Kaduna, Kaduna 1
Nasarawa 1
Awka, Anambra 1
Benin, Edo 1
Ibadan, Oyo 2
Yola, Adamawa 1
Total 41



Author: Test Test